The University of Iowa
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
The Department of Biology

Departmental Directory


Printable PDF Printable PDF
Adobe Acrobat
Mark Blumberg
Professor
Mark Blumberg
Email:mark-blumberg@uiowa.edu
Office:E234 SSH
Office Phone:335-2424
Lab Phone:335-2424

Research Overview:
Developmental Behavioral Neuroscience
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Chi-Lien Cheng
Associate Professor
Chi-Lien Cheng
Email:chi-lien-cheng@uiowa.edu
Office:210 BB
Office Phone:335-2583
Lab Phone:335-5940

Research Overview:
Alternation of generations in land plants; Vegetative phase change in maize
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Josep Comeron
Associate Professor
Josep Comeron
Email:josep-comeron@uiowa.edu
Office:212 BB
Office Phone:335-0628
Lab Phone:335-1126
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/labs/comeron

Research Overview:
Evolution of Recombination, Population Genenetics, Genome Evolution, Evolutionary Theory and Modelling
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Michael Dailey
Associate Professor
Michael Dailey
Email:michael-e-dailey@uiowa.edu
Office:369A BB
Office Phone:335-1067
Lab Phone:335-2695
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/daileylab

Research Overview:
Dynamics of Glia and Neurons in Developing Mammalian Brain Tissues
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Daniel Eberl
Professor
Daniel Eberl
Email:daniel-eberl@uiowa.edu
Office:259 BB
Office Phone:335-1323
Lab Phone:353-2055
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/eberl

Research Overview:
Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms of Hearing and Auditory Behavior
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Albert Erives
Associate Professor
Albert Erives
Email:albert-erives@uiowa.edu
Office:424 BB
Office Phone:335-2418
Lab Phone:335-2624

Research Overview:
Regulatory genomics, evolutionary genomics, evolution of metazoa
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Jan Fassler
Professor
Jan Fassler
Email:jan-fassler@uiowa.edu
Office:202 BBE
Office Phone:335-1542
Lab Phone:335-1925

Research Overview:
Environmental stress sensing and signal transduction in fungi; Characterization of antifungal drug targets; Evolutionary origins of animals; Novel protein folding chaperones; Polyglutamine tract length variation
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Andrew Forbes
Assistant Professor
Andrew Forbes
Email:andrew-forbes@uiowa.edu
Office:434A BB
Office Phone:335-3006
Lab Phone:335-1086
Website:https://www.biology.uiowa.edu/labs/forbes/

Research Overview:
Evolutionary Ecology; Speciation
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Bernd Fritzsch
Professor & Chair
Bernd Fritzsch
Email:bernd-fritzsch@uiowa.edu
Office:143 BB
Office Phone:353-2969
Lab Phone:335-1089
Website:https://www.biology.uiowa.edu/labs/fritzsch/

Research Overview:
Ear and hair cell development, regeneration, and evolution
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Steven Green
Professor
Steven Green
Email:steven-green@uiowa.edu
Office:238 BBE
Office Phone:335-1612
Lab Phone:335-1910

Research Overview:
Control of Neuronal Survival and Synaptogenesis by Neural Activity
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Steve Hendrix
Professor
Steve Hendrix
Email:stephen-hendrix@uiowa.edu
Office:425 BB
Office Phone:335-1065
Lab Phone:335-1065

Research Overview:
Plant-Animal Interactions: Conservation and Ecological Genomics
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Douglas Houston
Associate Professor
Douglas Houston
Email:douglas-houston@uiowa.edu
Office:257 BB
Office Phone:335-1316
Lab Phone:335-1317

Research Overview:
Localized molecules and maternal signalling pathways in vertebrate development
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Erin Irish
Associate Professor
Erin Irish
Email:erin-irish@uiowa.edu
Office:208 BB
Office Phone:335-2582
Lab Phone:335-2582

Research Overview:
Plant Developmental Genetics
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Alan Kay
Professor
Alan Kay
Email:alan-kay@uiowa.edu
Office:336 BB
Office Phone:335-1172
Lab Phone:335-3190

Research Overview:
The Role of Metals in the CNS & Imaging Neuronal Activity
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Bridget Lear
Assistant Professor
Bridget Lear
Email:bridget-lear@uiowa.edu
Office:450C BB
Office Phone:335-3079
Lab Phone:353-2485

Research Overview:
Neural and genetic basis of circadian behavior in Drosophila
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Jim (Jung-Ching) Lin
Professor
Jim (Jung-Ching) Lin
Email:jim-lin@uiowa.edu
Office:340 BBE
Office Phone:335-1075
Lab Phone:335-1072

Research Overview:
Cell Motility and Cardiac Development and Function
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Ana Llopart
Assistant Professor
Ana Llopart
Email:ana-llopart@uiowa.edu
Office:469 BB
Office Phone:384-1880
Lab Phone:335-3430

Research Overview:
Speciation Genetics
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
John Logsdon
Associate Professor
John Logsdon
Email:john-logsdon@uiowa.edu
Office:310 BB
Office Phone:335-1082
Lab Phone:335-1083
Website:http://euplotes.biology.uiowa.edu

Research Overview:
Evolutionary Molecular Genetics
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Anna Malkova
Associate Professor
Image Not Found
Email:anna-malkova@uiowa.edu
Office:331 BB
Office Phone:384-1285
Lab Phone:384-1285

Robert Malone
Professor
Robert Malone
Email:robert-malone@uiowa.edu
Office:312 BB
Office Phone:335-1112
Lab Phone:335-1095

Research Overview:
Chromosome behavior in meiosis
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
John Manak
Associate Professor
John Manak
Email:john-manak@uiowa.edu
Office:449 BB
Office Phone:335-0180
Lab Phone:335-3771

Research Overview:
Genomics, Genetics, Neurobiology
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Linda Maxson
Professor
Linda Maxson
Email:linda-maxson@uiowa.edu
Office:112 BB
Office Phone:353-1387
Lab Phone:

Research Overview:
Molecular Evolutionary Genetics
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Bryant McAllister
Associate Professor
Bryant McAllister
Email:bryant-mcallister@uiowa.edu
Office:222 BB
Office Phone:335-2604
Lab Phone:335-1100
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/mcallister

Research Overview:
Evolutionary Genetics and Genome Evolution
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Maurine Neiman
Associate Professor
Maurine Neiman
Email:maurine-neiman@uiowa.edu
Office:324B BB
Office Phone:384-1814
Lab Phone:384-1813
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/neiman

Research Overview:
Evolution of sexual reproduction and ploidy level
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Bryan Phillips
Assistant Professor
Bryan Phillips
Email:bryan-phillips@uiowa.edu
Office:200 BBE
Office Phone:335-2071
Lab Phone:335-2072

Research Overview:
Cell Fate Determination in C. elegans
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Veena Prahlad
Assistant Professor, Aging Mind & Brain Initiative
Veena Prahlad
Email:veena-prahlad@uiowa.edu
Office:338 BBE
Office Phone:335-1055
Lab Phone:384-3650

Research Overview:
Neuronal control of cellular stress responses
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Diane Slusarski
Professor
Diane Slusarski
Email:diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu
Office:246A BB
Office Phone:335-3229
Lab Phone:335-3997
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/slusarskilab

Research Overview:
Signal Transduction Mechanisms in Vertebrate Development and Disease
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Sarit Smolikove
Assistant Professor
Sarit Smolikove
Email:sarit-smolikove@uiowa.edu
Office:308 BB
Office Phone:335-1977
Lab Phone:335-1214
Website:http://www.biology.uiowa.edu/smolikove

Research Overview:
DNA damage repair and chromosome synapsis in C. elegans meiosis
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
David Soll
Professor
David Soll
Email:david-soll@uiowa.edu
Office:302 BBE
Office Phone:335-1117
Lab Phone:335-1116

Research Overview:
Molecular Pathology and Cell Motility
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Christopher Stipp
Associate Professor
Christopher Stipp
Email:christopher-stipp@uiowa.edu
Office:236 BBE
Office Phone:335-0192
Lab Phone:335-0273

Research Overview:
Cell Surface Interaction Maps, Cell Migration, & Mechanisms of Integrin Functional Diversity
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Joshua Weiner
Associate Professor
Joshua Weiner
Email:joshua-weiner@uiowa.edu
Office:348B BB
Office Phone:335-0091
Lab Phone:335-1328

Research Overview:
Molecular Control of Specific Cell-Cell Interactions During Neural Circuit Formation
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.
Chun-Fang Wu
Professor
Chun-Fang Wu
Email:chun-fang-wu@uiowa.edu
Office:239A BB
Office Phone:335-1091
Lab Phone:335-1084

Research Overview:
Neurogenetics of Drosophila
...view full Research Description as PDF or HTML.